top of page
  • Writer's pictureJet Noir

The Internet Made Me Do It!



My biggest challenge in writing this blog is making sure that I don’t come off as *that guy* that tells people what to do. I dislike those blogs that state opinions as facts. I have no desire to read the “I’ve been a coach for a decade so I have all of the answers to everyone about everything fitness and health related…ever” blog. Those writers exist and I hope to never be known as one. There’s also the “Here are 17 things wrong with [insert movie title] because I say so” blog that I have no desire to read. My goal in writing this blog sparked a few years back when I was the “new guy” cycling coach. I needed to build a following in order to keep my classes full (and keep a job that I loved). So, I asked people to sign up for my email list and I’d send them the music playlist. As I was writing the emails, I would note a theme or intention for each playlist/week and explaining that positive message grew into this blog that you’re reading now. In this blog, I will give suggestions, challenges, reminders and I’ll point out what has helped me in my training. This blog has also grown to encompass my entire life. So, you’ll receive the occasional erotic short story, body positive activism, rant, or general encouragement to challenge the standard narrative on various subjects. I try not to give the flagrant, finger-pointing guidance that screams, “YOU MUST DO THIS IN ORDER TO ACCOMPLISH THAT”, with a few exceptions, of course. Some exceptions: You must change your mind before you change your body. You must have more action than plan in your action plan. You must make time for what’s important or else it’s just not that important to you. That’s not a judgment, that’s just truth. Let’s talk science and statistics, numbers can back up a lot of research. But, numbers are based on the people that were a part of the study, numbers don’t speak for every single human being. So, the next time you read a statistic that notes what 75% of people do (or don’t do), read the fine print. If one hundred people were surveyed, that’s not a true indicator of the entire population. So, it wouldn’t be wise to base your individual fitness routine on skewed statistics. Just to be clear, not all statistical-based advice is bad. I’m just saying that you shouldn’t jump on a band wagon trend just because of stats and “what they say”. (If you ever find yourself using the phrase, “they say”, be careful. You might be parroting information without fully understanding it.) Recently, a client pointed out that a study says it’s okay to workout in the morning on an empty stomach. I’ve seen enough people get light-headed because they tried to do an intense workout at 7:00am with no breakfast to think otherwise. Have I woken up and gone for a 5K run with no breakfast and performed well? Yes, I have! Does that mean that I’d tell everyone reading this blog to wake up and go for a run on an empty stomach? Hell no! Listen to your body and do what feels right. When receiving any advice, please consider the source and stop to think if this person is giving advice beyond their scope of expertise. If I hear one more, “my coach said that I can only eat 10 almonds a week” scenario, I will figuratively lose my shit. It is my hope that all fitness coaches train within the scope of their expertise. It is my hope that all fitness enthusiasts consider the source of their training information. Training within your scope of expertise means that you should not create meal plans or give nutrition advice if you are not properly educated to do so. Reading a few books and taking a class at the Learning Annex does not qualify you to tell someone how/when/what to eat. It just doesn’t. Real life experience losing 100 pounds with a change in YOUR diet, does not (in and of itself) qualify you to design a diet for someone else. There are plenty of Registered Dietitians, TCM and HHP practitioners that are well qualified. Be advised, those aren’t the only sources for such information. I’m just reminding those that are under-qualified to train within the scope of their knowledge. I’d also like to remind all present and future fitness enthusiasts to consider the source of information. “My friend read a magazine article. I’m going to start brushing my teeth with Creatine!” Please don’t. “My cousin’s, best friend’s, uncle lost some weight. Who cares that he’s a different gender, race, build and age than I am. He must have the answers to weight loss!” He does have answers, for him. Remember, there is a difference between health (the state of being free from illness or injury) and fitness (the quality of being suitable to fulfill a particular role or task). Please train smart and train safely. Oh, there I go, telling you what to do.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page