top of page
  • Writer's pictureJet Noir

Revitalization Through Dance: Energy For A Busy Life, Part 5/7

I’m a dancer. It’s taken me a long time to be able to say that with confidence. I’ve been a model since I was 12. Over the years, I’ve been a rapper, choreographer, poet, actor, nude figure model, and most recently (2010) I began performing burlesque. I would often refute the claims of people that called me a dancer. I described my performances as posing with a well timed striptease in sync with the music. As I’ve challenged myself to perform to different songs (and in different comfort zones) over the years, I’ve come up with a two-pronged approach to burlesque rehearsals. I run through my number while marking the place and time for costume removal. Then, I run through the same number with no costume removal and only dance steps. I do that as a reminder that I’m on that stage to have fun, entertain, tell a story, and create something memorable for the audience.

People have asked me, “where did you learn to dance?” In the basement. Some have assumed, “of course, you’re classically trained, right?” Nope. Growing up, we never asked where someone learned to dance, we just asked, “where you from?” In Detroit, many of us learned our moves by watching The Scene. If you weren’t raised in the D, here’s a seven minute documentary from YouTube. The picture isn’t great, but you can still make out the dance moves.


We went home after school, turned on the Scene and danced in our basements and living rooms. We mimicked dance moves and added our own flavors to create individual style. We would compare notes in playground dance battles to see who was the freshest. My boldest attempt came in the second grade when I tried spinning on my head and fell on my ass. I kept the dancing low key after that. Because I was the quiet one in the neighborhood, when I did break out and dance a bit, all eyes were on me. People just stared because of the rarity of my exhibition. It made me self-conscious and I would always lose my step. The first time that I didn’t lose my nerve and kept my moves tight was when I was one-third of the Hip Hop Trio New Twist! Yes, I was a rapper circa 1993. I was the Mellow MC. (I can’t type that without laughing.) For our first time on a stage, at a talent show, I choreographed our routine. We came in 3rd Place out of 20 acts! It was a proud moment, but it was also a new comfort zone – being on a stage. What’s more important, I felt energized!

Fast forward about four years when I was living in Atlanta. We drove to Birmingham for a business conference and we were at a Sports Bar (that happened to have a DJ and dance floor) when something happened. I wanted to dance with this attractive woman in our group. But, I still had the fear of all eyes on me from being the quiet one in the neighborhood. Then, it hit me… “I’m in Birmingham and I’m never going to see 90% of these people ever again! Fuck it!” I danced with such freedom that I floated. When I came down, everyone was giving me props. I was so high from the dance. I felt energized.


When was the last time that you danced? Not in your living room, not in your car at the traffic light, and not in the aisle at Safeway (all acceptable places). When was the last time that you went out and danced? I ask my class the same question, periodically. When was the last time that you went out (specifically) to dance?  What if dancing could save your life? Do you think I’m being dramatic? If you want a great way to train your brain and keep it sharp, learn some technical dance steps. Will such brain training stop one from dementia in old age? Perhaps. I’ve never read a study that provides irrefutable evidence to corrobroate such a claim. But, what could it hurt to train your brain and keep it engaged? The last time that you danced, I’m willing to bet that it was just what you needed. I bet your spirit was moved. I bet it was cheaper than therapy. I bet you felt energized. I bet your busy life didn’t feel overwhelming. I bet you were able to keep going when your favorite jam came on. Well, that’s why I dance.

Since that night in Alabama, I never hold back if eyes may be on me. My motto is to “Dance as if everyone is watching and make eye contact as you work it!” If you agree, wear this with pride!


Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 18.21.30
0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page