top of page
  • Writer's pictureJet Noir

Energy For A Busy Life, Part 1: My Recent Workout (Seven Part Series)

The most common question I hear (about my energy level) is, “how do you do it?” For those of you that are thinking about switching the channel for fear of me selling you some self-help program, relax. There may be some directive undertones, but that’s just from my habit of speaking like a coach. I’m here to tell you what works for me. I’ll type that again for dramatic effect. What you’re about to read works for Jet. You may takeaway some tools that work for your life. But, this is what has worked for me. I often tell people that (fill in the blank) works for me and they should find what works for them. Then they come back later on and say, “you told me to…” Nah ah aaaahhh! Let’s review: Directive undertones because I’m a coach, check. What works for ME, check. Do what works for YOUR body, check. Jet is not telling you specifically what to do because there’s a chance he’s never met you, check. Now, to answer that FAQ: *insert Montell Jordan imitation* “This is how I dooooo it!” The broad stroke response is that I have energy to do as much as I do because I workout, eat what I need, take naps, and I have a healthy sex life. Those are just a few reasons. Allow me to expand on all of that over the next seven weeks.

Workout = Energy At the beginning of the year, my workout plan begins with me doing nothing. The first week of the year is often a week of no (personal) workouts for me. I use that time to figure out my schedule and to iron out when I’ll be able to work out in the coming weeks. I then spend six consecutive weeks doing the same (minor tweaks for intensity) workout every week. This has been my workout plan for the past six weeks.

Monday [Chest & Triceps] Upper Body Warmup + 2:00 Min Jump Rope 3 Rounds (12 Reps) 1. Chained Bench Press 130 pounds (weighted chains hang from bar to modify distribution and work stabilizers during lift) 2. Bench Dips 3. Elephant Push-ups 6 reps p/Arm 4. Rope Cable Pulldowns 37 pounds 5. Push-ups 6. Dumbbell Decline Bench Press 40 pounds each 7. Decline Crunches 24 reps 8. TRX Push-ups Interactive Coaching: Indoor Cycling 1 Hour (Ride with class for every drill and coach from the stage)

Tuesday Run 5K

Wednesday [Legs & Shoulders] Lower Body Warmup + Rotator Cuff Warmup + 2:00 Min Jump Rope 3 Rounds (12 Reps) 1. Chained Back Squats 130 pounds (weighted chains hang from bar to modify distribution and work stabilizers during lift) 2. Bench Pistol Squats 8 reps p/Leg 3. American Kettlebell Swings 28kg 4.Kettlebell Sumo Squats 40kg 3 Rounds (12 Reps) 1. Chained Military Press 90 pounds (weighted chains hang from bar to modify distribution and work stabilizers during lift) 2. Lateral Dumbbell Deltoid Raise 15 pounds each 3. Dumbbell Arnold Press 15 pounds each 4. Front Dumbbell Deltoid Raise 15 pounds each 5. Battle Rope Dual Waves 50 reps Interactive Coaching (Two classes on Wednesdays): Indoor Cycling 1 Hour and again in the evening for 45 Minutes (Ride with class for every drill and coach from the stage)

Thursday Run 5K

Friday [Back & Biceps] Upper Body Warmup + 2:00 Min Jump Rope 3 Rounds (12 Reps) 1. Sumo Deadlift & Curl 74 pounds 2. Cross Grip Deadlifts 134 pounds 3. Pull-ups 4. Dual Dumbbell Row 35 pounds each 5. Seated Dumbbell ISO Curls 8 reps p/Arm @ 30 pounds 6. Superman 24 reps 7. Cable Lat Pulldowns 43 pounds Interactive Coaching: Indoor Cycling 1 Hour (Ride with class for every drill and coach from the stage)

Saturday [Rest Day, nothing active above walking.]

Sunday [Rest Day, nothing active above walking.]

I know, I know. You’re wondering why I’m not doing something different every time I workout. What about “muscle confusion”? Switching things up all of the time is a common fitness mistake. I often see people come to the gym every day for three years and their body still looks the same as day one. Why is that? Well, they’re often doing group classes (which are often different from one workout to the next) and their body never learns to lift smarter through repetition. When measuring strength gains, studies have found evidence that the brain plays a big part in conditioning the muscles. Repetition is the mother of all skill because our brain needs to tell which muscles to fire in which order to lift smarter, more efficiently. If you’re doing a different workout every time you come to the gym, you’re not allowing your brain to learn movement patterns. You’re not allowing your skills to improve. You’re preventing your body from achieving specific (measurable) strength gains. Sure, you’ve gotten stronger. But, without consistency (the missing ingredient from most workout plans) you’ll find a greater challenge reaching your specific goals. So, for the entire year, I rest one week and workout for six. After this week off, my workout will be very different from the one noted above. I’ll do the new one for six weeks, rinse, and repeat.

How does all of this create energy? I sleep like a stone after one of the days listed above. My basal metabolic rate is burning pretty hot throughout the day which causes my body to process things efficiently. Please note the importance of designated rest days. I do nothing on Sat/Sun and allow my bodymind to recover before starting up on Monday. It’s how I stay injury-free. You’ll also notice lots of interval (cycling classes) cardio work mixed with steady state (running) cardio in addition to intense weight circuits. All of those activities combined build up the endurance of my heart, lungs, and mind. This is where I get my energy.

Tune in next week when I cover consumption and how what/when I eat has helped me to maintain consistent energy levels.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page