top of page
  • Writer's pictureJet Noir

I Am Not A Threat

On Friday, April 29, 2016 I performed a Spoken Word piece while doing a reverse strip tease. Here are the words and my attire in asterisks.

*Pasties & Thong*

My body generates judgment My body generates assumption They say, Jet would kick my ass They say, Jet can be intimidating They say, I don’t want to piss that guy off They say all of these things just because they see my body They say all of these things without saying a word to me Perhaps I have resting asshole face when I’m in deep concentration When they complain to my Manager, I’m told maybe it was your tone of voice. (What can I do if I have the deepest voice in the room?) When they complain to my Manager, I’m told maybe it was your body language. (What can I do if I’m the biggest person in the room?) When they complain to my Manager, I’m told that I can be intimidating. (What can I do if I’m the blackest person in the room?) They see the color of my body and they judge me to be an aggressor What they don’t know is that I’ve spent years in anger management You see, when you go through a lifetime filled with people attacking you because your body looks small and weak and then they fear you because your body looks big and strong it fucks with you. What if I wore a pretty wrapping on this body?

*Dons shirt, tie, & blazer*

Underneath these threads, they still see my body and my skin and they proclaim surprise. They’re surprised that this body is intelligent. They’re surprised that this skin is eloquent. They’re surprised to see this human display an act of kindness. Why? Why are any of you surprised at this skin? Sting once said that the songwriting of Jimi Hendrix was “surprisingly adept”. Why was he surprised? Why are you surprised at this skin? Do you not see my pretty clothes? We bought these clothes off the same rack! Why are you surprised when I’m not “urban” or “ghetto” as you’ve seen on the videos? AM I NOT STEREOTYPE ENOUGH FOR YOU?

*Dons jogging pants & black hoody*

How about now? Does this body make you feel comfortably uncomfortable knowing that all of your assumptions were right? Do I look like I’m up to no good? Does this body, this skin look like a threat to your purse or your family? I am not a threat. I am love. I am the love that gives until it’s gone. Don’t be the follower of myopic masses that assume the worst without even understanding why. I am not a threat. Remember THAT when I smile at you on the street to relax YOUR fears. Remember THAT when I play with puppies on the street as I know THEY won’t fear me. Remember THAT when you assume that I’m dating all the ladies when most of them admit to finding me intimidating. I spend more time alone wishing they weren’t afraid of me than out on the town like everyone thinks. I AM NOT A THREAT. I am a human being. I am subject to the human condition just like everyone in this room. I experience hopes, fears, love, and pain. I am not a threat. The real threat comes from any assumptions made about my body or my skin. I AM NOT A THREAT.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page